News from Shadows & Light – May 2012

Some days it feels as though ‘busy’ should be my middle name. Running a business is a challenge at the best of times and the advent of new technology makes me realise that there is now more to do and more frequently. Web sites, blogging, phone calls, new business leads, research for workshops, lesson planing, it’s never ending. In between all of this I still have to find time to shoot fresh images and have a personal life. Challenging or what?

La Resureccion make final preparations, Seville 2012

I’ve had a busy spring with workshops in Spain and England. As soon as my university teaching ended and I’d wrapped up the Avebury light painting shoot (see earlier post) I was off to Andalucia with a small group to shoot landscapes in the White Villages.

Cloud descending

From our base in Grazalema we went out each day shooting both classic landscapes, villages, cork oak forest then detail shots of walls, corrals, old houses, etc. One whole day was spent in the beautiful Moorish town of Ronda where the tapas are absolutely divine.

Ronda, poppoes

This was a successful tour and it’s my intention to run it again at the same time of year in 2013 so keep an eye out for it or contact us for details.

From Grazalema I moved up to the Alpujarras. This is an area I’ve travelled in previously and I needed time to do research with a view to taking a group both there and to Granada in the future. This area is very special for me, as is most of Spain.

Tres mantillias

As Easter was unusually late this year I finished my extended Spanish trip with a vey intense 5 days leading the Semana Santa workshop in Seville. Admittedly I returned home exhausted, especially after working through the nights and managing only fitful siestas, but I got a great deal of pleasure and satisfaction from it as did those who came along for the photography. Come along next year and experience it for yourselves.

The morning after returning to London it was back in to university to kick off the new terms work for the second year BA students with two extended advertising photography projects which they are engaging with passionately.

4 Comments

Filed under Trip Reports

4 responses to “News from Shadows & Light – May 2012

  1. It was a great time indeed! Already looking forward to the experience in 2013!
    Greetings from Madrid

  2. paul

    Super photos – as always. I have seen a few pictures of the high bridge at Ronda but this is a very clever idea to put in the foreground poppies. It puts a different take on the familiar scene.

  3. Great photos! And I can certainly empathize with juggling so many things at once. It’s hard to need to be so organized, focused and driven to grow a business when the business you’re in is all about creativity and being “out there” meeting people & visiting new places (and thus, photographing people and places). If someone can figure out the trick for balancing the different facets of a photographer, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

