Phase One – 9 Below Zero

Waste Incinerator, A406

It’s late. It’s cold. However the Li-ion batteries that come as standard with the Phase One to power the IQ back worked just as well in the low temperatures as team at The Flash Centre had assured me they would. After 50 mins shooting I still had around 55% charge remaining and I could have carried on for a while longer but by then my body was too cold.

One criticism I do have of the camera is that it’s not possible to operate the touch screen on the IQ back when gloves and when it’s so cold and with a sharp northerly wind I’d prefer to keep my gloves on.

I’d been intending to shoot this waste incinerator for some time but knew that I needed to wait for a particularly cold night in order to enhance the steam and vapour that the plant gives off. I was driving back from Essex late on a Thursday and knew that all of the elements I needed would be in place. Standing downwind of this plant is much fun though as the smell is pretty overpowering!

This is yet another area urban Britain that I will add to a future Shadows and Light workshop. It’s gritty and grimy but does have a certain appeal.

Details: Phase One c/w IQ160, 35mm, 1 min, f22, 50 ISO, no filtration

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Phase One – 9 Below Zero

  1. Looking at the sky I thought for a moment you’d caught the aurora borealis.
    I’ve been going round in fingerless gloves recently. They probably make me look like old Steptoe, but so what.

    • I know the feeling. Holding a great lump of very cold metal in my hands in the current weather is beyond my endurance even with good gloves. I keep 3 or 4 rechargeable handwarmers in my camera bag when working outdoors. I used to use fingerless gloves but your right, I have an image to consider!

Leave a Reply

